Two Delicious (and redonkulously easy) Dips

It is OFFICIALLY party season. That means full social calendars, champagne hangovers, expanding waistlines and panic-shopping-for-the-perfect-New-Year dress. I’m yet to find my perfect New Year dress, so any suggestion would be welcome with open arms and a big fat, Santa style kiss.

I’m not having a party tonight, but Mummy and Sister Swan are coming over for dinner and wine to celebrate the fact that WE’RE GOING TO NEW YORK TOMORROW EEEEEEEEKKKKKHH I AM SO SO SO SO SO EXCITED!!!! Do not fear my hungry pals, there will be plenty of NYC-ness on the blog once we have dragged ourselves away from the Christmassy Big Apple.

Anyway – I may have just sidetracked a wee bit – dips belong at parties like Santa belongs in a chimney*, and it always looks very impressive when you’ve made them yourself. I’m making two dips tonight; simple pimple hummus (you will never buy hummus again, I promise) and a rather snazzy looking, but also ‘whack everything in a blender’ kinda simple smoked salmon dip. SCRUMMY YUMBOS!

*am I making too many Christmas references for November..? Soz.

Homemade Hummus

You will need:

1 can of chickpeas

2 garlic cloves

2 tbsps lemon juice

rapeseed oil (you could just use olive oil, but I happened to have rapeseed oil)

salt

paprika (to garnish)

IMG_6792

What to do:

Whack everything in a blender (holding back on the paprika and a few chickpeas so that you can make it look pretty later) and blend until smooth. If you like coarse hummus (weirdo) then go easy on the blending. Garnish with a sprinkle of paprika, a scattering of chickpeas and a squizzle (alitteration..?) of oil.  The measurements in this recipe are very, very rough and I actually ended up putting a little more lemon juice in.  I also made it very garlicky (beware, vampires, I’ma comin’!) so if you’re not into avoiding human contact for a month then possible one clove will do.

IMG_6793

^ we’re into minus sexy points but oh em gee that was way better than any hummus I’ve every bought. I will never ever buy hummus every agin. Fact.

Sexy Salmon Dip

You will need:

1 pack of flaked salmon or a pack of ready cooked salmon. I only bought a pack of salmon because I couldn’t find flakes in Tesco however, they defs sell delicious salmon flakes in M&S – Jennie uses them in her DELICIOUS Seafood Risotto.

Half a pack of cream cheese

1 tbsp plain yoghurt

a generous helping of dill

a dash of lemon juice

What to do:

Clean your blender if you’ve just made the hummus or you will be the least popular party host in all the land!

IMG_6784

Whack everything in the blender and blend! I use quite a lot of dill because I heart it very very much.  I also put a bit more lemon juice in than the recipe says – just taste as you go along and keep adding stuff.  You can also add horseradish, chilli flakes and anything else that takes your fancy; I personally like to keep in simple.

Garnish with a sprinkling of dill.

IMG_6789

Scoop up with crisp breads and sticks of veg and devour! The salmon dip is especially delicious stuffed into peppers. Phwooooooar…

Leave a Reply

