Butternut Squash, Spinach & Goats Cheese Lasagne

I am, by no stretch of the imagination, a  health nerd.  I try my best to get my 5 a day and I swim in an attempt to not be the size of a house however, I have a downfall (who doesn’t?) and that is carbs.  Biiiiiiig plates of pasta, garlic bread, smothered in sauce and cheese and washed down with a bottle of wine.  Good God I love carbs.

Sadly, this doesn’t bode well for someone who’s leaving on a jet plane to Thailand in 10 weeks and wants to look not like a beached whale.  I’m trying to get my big, filling dinners but not load up on carbs as much and this recipe is perfect.  Yes, I know it has cheese on it but I can’t not have everyone or I’d die. Fact.

To serve 4 (or 2 with leftovers) you will need:

Half a massive butternut squash, or a small/medium sized one.

1 red pepper

2 red onions

2 big garlic cloves

450g bag of spinach (it wilts)

1 drained tin of chopped tomatoes

salt

pepper

dried thyme

dried sage

olive oil

lasagne sheets

sauce flour (Sainsbury’s)

milk

cheddar cheese

goats cheese – I went for the mildest because I can’t stand the strong stuff but if you like it, go for it.

IMG_4734

Turn your oven way up to 220º and cube your butternut squash, red pepper and onions into a roasting tray.

Mash your garlic and salt together with a fork and bung that in with a generous amount of sage, thyme and black pepper.  Glug over some olive oil (don’t go overboard or your end produce will be oily and gross) and mix the whole thing around with a spoon… or get your hands in there.

Doesn’t it look colourful and delicious!?

IMG_4738

Whack your veg in the oven for about half an hour, or until it looks like this…

IMG_4741

Mix in your chopped tomatoes.

Whilst your veg is roasting it’s probably a good idea to get a head start on your spinach.  It needs to all be wilted down and then have the excess water drained (yes, I know that all the goodness will be in the juice thats squeezed out but do you want a soggy lasagne? No. Didn’t think so).

I use my sistema microwave steamer which I bought a few months ago and am now obsessed with.

IMG_4744

Steam your spinach – or you can wilt it down in a pan – and push it through a sieve with the back of a spoon to remove excess water.

Once your veg is roasted, you can start layering.

In your chosen dish, spread out half of your roasted veg and top with your spinach.

IMG_4743

The other half of veg goes on top of that.

IMG_4746

Now you can make your white sauce.  I used 1 tablespoon of sauce flour, 150ml of whole milk and a twist of black pepper.  You can make your white sauce however you like

Pop a layer of lasagne sheets on top of your veg (if you’re being super dooper healthy you could always miss this out) and top with your white sauce and grated cheese.

IMG_4750

Blob around some goats cheese.

IMG_4753

And put the whole thing back in a 180º oven for 45mins, or until the cheese is a bubblin’ and brown. YUM!

IMG_4755

Relish in the healthiness…

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

