Hare and Tortoise

Let me tell you about my Friday night. It all started in a swelteringly hot room in Chiswick with my friend Kayleigh. God, I wish I was talking about a sauna paired with a relaxing massage but no, we were at Bikram Yoga. We were stretched and balanced and namaste-ed in sweltering 40º heat for an hour and a half to the point where we were both either going to pass out or throw up. Kayleigh loves it but I think you’ll have to get my opinion when I’ve fully recovered (give me about a week and a half). Anyway, if you’re in the area they have amazing introductory offers – off peak £40 for 30 days is a bargain if you’re going to make the most of it.  If you’re intrigued, then their website is here.

After sweating off half of our body weight* obviously we needed to refuel. I was dying to go to this new pizza place in South Ealing but it was completely slammed; I’ll go another day and tell you all about it because I’ve heard great things. Anyway, instead we headed to Hare and Tortoise.

*slight exaggeration

IMG_4111_2

We were starving so ordered starters to share:

A mountain of Edamame, salted to perfection (ie. a lot)

IMG_4113_2

Spicy wing sticks

Soft Shell Crab that just fell apart and melted in your mouth.

IMG_4114_2

Chuka Wakame (looks like slime, tastes like heaven)

IMG_4116_2

Vegetable Spring Rolls

Tempura Prawn Temaki Hand Roll.

For mains, Kayleigh had Tori Katsu Curry (their portions are massive so you could easily share this with sides) and I had the Deluxe Sushi Box. I always like going for mixed sushi and although it could have done with some sashimi, the selection was pretty good.

IMG_4117_2

They also have a good selection of Japanese beer – I loved the Tsing Tao.

IMG_4112_2

Hare and Tortoise have several locations: Ealing, Bloomsbury, Kensington, Blackfriars, Putney and a brand new restaurant has just opened in Chiswick.

One of the things I like about H&T is it’s a fab mix of sharing food and mains. It’s great if you just want to order a mountain of food to share or a main all to yourself… or of course both!

Website here.

Leave a Reply

