Apple & Celeriac Soup

Incase you hadn’t noticed, yesterday was Valentine’s Day. I find that a lot of people either love or hate Valentine’s Day but me – I’m impartial. Chris and I never make a big deal. We cook and/or go out for dinner then split the bill. No flowers, no grand gestures or expensive gifts; just good food.

We decided that I would be in charge of starter & dessert and Chris would be in charge of the main course.

I’m only telling you about the starter I’m afraid. The wine got the better of me and I forget to take photos however it’s well worth it. It was healthy, light and super delicious.

To make enough for 6 as a starter (I went overboard, we have lots of leftovers) or 4 as a main course:

Olive oil

1 onion

Half a large celeriac or 1 small one

2 apples (I used cox)

A few sprigs of fresh thyme, de-leafed

1 litre of veg stock

100ml crème fraiche

Slug some olive oil into a large saucepan and chop and fry the onion for about 10 minutes until it’s soft, then add your thyme leaves.  It’s a lot of faff taking teeny weeny thyme leaves off the stalk but don’t be tempted to use dried thyme, the aroma of the fresh stuff is just amazing, I was tempted to steam my face over the saucepan.

IMG_4040_2

Chop the celeriac into small chunks (no need to peel by the way, even though the outside looks gross) and quarter and core the apples. Chuck these in with the onions along with your stock then clamp the lid on and let it bubble away until the celeriac is cooked – you should be able to put a knife through the larger pieces very easily.

IMG_4041 IMG_4046

Once the celeriac is done hand blend the mixture until it’s smooth. It’ll be a lovely light green colour.

IMG_4052

When you’re ready to eat, add the crème fraiche and reheat.  I served mine under the advice of Jamie Oliver, with crispy fried sage leaves but you could also toast hazelnuts and serve these sprinkled arty-fartily on top too.

Whether you spent St V’s Day with another half, with your mates or ignoring it completely, we hope you had a good one!

Our proper Valentine’s Day meal will be on Tuesday and I literally cannot wait to tell you all about it!

Leave a Reply

