Signature Seafood Risotto

Forgive me, dear Readers, for my lack of seemly modesty, but I think I’m right when I say that I make THE BEST seafood risotto in the world. I know, it’s a big claim, but then again it’s the product of a LOT of work so I feel justified making said claim. My best friend and I used make this together a lot and so it’s been modified over time until it’s practically perfect. As the title of this post suggests, this has become my signature dish and it never fails to impress (NB: unless the person you’re trying to impress doesn’t like seafood. I can only imagine that going badly, though you’d have A LOT of risotto to eat afterwards, so maybe that’s a win).

Whenever I go home to stay, Mummy and Daddy Swan request that I make this for dinner (in lieu of rent, presumably) as it’s the only thing Mum will admit that I can do better than she can. I’ve just spent a few nights at home and this time I thought I’d blog my risotto so I can share it with you lovely people. Credit for the photography goes to Mummy Swan, there are some serious hand close ups in there…

What you need (serves 4):

A knob of butter and a splash of oil

One large onion-ish, finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic

Chilli flakes

About 75g per person of Arborio rice

125ml white wine

About 1l veg stock

1 salmon fillet

About 225g raw or cooked prawns

A packet of THIS (secret ingredient alert!)

IMG_2909

^Arbroath Lochmuir Hot Smoked Salmon Flakes from M&S

A small bunch of dill

½ a tub of phili (because, you know, everything is improved by a dollop of phili)

IMG_2908

What to do:

  1. First, pour yourself a glass of wine – you have an awful lot of cooking ahead of you, and you need to be properly fortified
  2. Cook your salmon fillet for c.20m at 180ºC/Gas Mark 4.  When it’s cooled, flake it by hand ready to add to your risotto later.      IMG_2925
  3. While that’s cooking, melt your knob of butter in a pan with a glug of oil. If you’re using raw prawns cook these with your garlic until they’re completely pink and set to one side, if you’re not just add your onions and garlic and cook gently until soft
  4. Add about this many chilli flakes (depending on your taste, but don’t go overboard as you don’t want to overwhelm the seafood – the aim is a gentle heat in the back of your mouth, not to blow your head off)                               IMG_2913
  5. Add your rice, stir until it’s coated with the oil and butter and then add the wine and stir, stir, stir until it’s been absorbed
  6. Add your stock, a ladleful at a time and cook until it’s been absorbed. Repeat until the rice is slightly softer than al dente (you’ll have to keep tasting to check this); if you run out of stock before you’ve reached this point, make some more – nothing is more important in a risotto than perfect rice! It should take you about half an hour but you’ll have to play it by ear a bit.
  7. Once your rice is cooked, add you cooked salmon, smoked salmon and prawns. Stir, stir, stir.                                   IMG_2928IMG_2933IMG_2936
  8. Add your chopped dill, then stir, stir, stir some more.                      IMG_2937
  9. Taste, then add black pepper if you need it. If you think your risotto needs salt at this point then there’s something wrong with you and you should book an appointment with a cardiologist, stat.
  10. Stir in the Phili.
  11. Serve, with a little chopped dill on top if you’re feeling fancy and a glass of delicious white wine (mandatory). If I’ve had a hard day/week and need to double carb, I have this with garlic bread.                          IMG_2941
  12. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm…
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

