Jones @ TripKitchen

After a strenuous gym session this weekend I decided to treat myself to a nice brunch as a reward. Trip Kitchen is a great space under the arches of the overground line near Haggerston, which plays host to different food vendors on a rotating basis. Last time I went it was Breddos, this time it was Jones which, according to the website do “seasonal modern European/British dishes, Sunday Roast and healthy lunches and brunches”.

IMG_2898

Trip Kitchen itself is brilliant little place. It has a curved ceiling (because it’s under the arches of the railway bridge) and it’s very stripped back and minimalist. It’s also really chilled out and quiet – despite the fact that you can hear the trains rumbling over your head on a regular basis, I actually think that’s kind of soothing – and I think it’s the perfect place to spend a couple of hours eating and reading the paper of a weekend.

IMG_2901

We started with some tea (such a cute milk bottle, no?) while we decided what to have. I was starving (reference: strenuous gym session, above) so had avocado on toast with crispy bacon and poached eggs, as did my brunch date. We also had a glass of prosecco (again, for justification see ‘strenuous gym session’, above) and some wonderfully fresh orange juice.

IMG_2900

I was very excited about my brunch, and when it came it SO did not disappoint – avocados are pretty much my favourite food, and paired with crispy, salty bacon it’s a match made in heaven. Throw in some gooey poached eggs and you have all my brunch dreams coming true at once!

IMG_2902

Phwoar.

IMG_2903

If I was being super picky I’d say the eggs could have been runnier, but on the whole it was an excellent way to spend a couple of hours on a Saturday. I’ll be going back soon, as I have my eye on their blueberry pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Yes please… *drool*

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather says:

    Sounds delicious. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

