Coconut & Marmalade Cake

I felt rotten this weekend.  As sod’s law has it, I woke up at the crack of 5.30 on Saturday feeling like I’d swallowed sandpaper and couldn’t breathe through my nose.  I spent the majority of Saturday lying down on Susan’s sofa and feeling sorry for myself.  Sunday wasn’t much better, so I decided to make myself a ‘Get Well Soon’ cake. It must have worked because I now feel very nearly 100% better. Thanks, life, for going out there just to ruin my weekend.  Couldn’t have been during the week to give me a convenient excuse to call in sick, could it?

This is probably my second favourite flavour of cake* (when I have more spare time I’ll do a blog post listing my top 10 favourite cake flavours, that’ll be an interested read, won’t it?). This is coconut & marmalade cake.  It’s dead simple and can be made into a regular viccy sponge, a loaf, or handy individual cakes to take to work/school.

*for those of you who give a damn, my all time fave is Banana & Chocolate Loaf.

IMG_3783

You will need:

225g margarine
225g caster sugar
225g self raising flour
4 large eggs
2tsp baking powder
1tsp vanilla extract
50g desiccated coconut
3tablespoons of good quality marmalade.

Start by preparing whatever it is you will be cooking your cake in.  I went for a regular victoria sponge but without the filling so I greased & lined my tin.  You will need to do this if you’re making a loaf as well.  Also turn your oven on to 180º/gas mark 4.

Now, there are 2 ways of making a cake.  Here is number 1:

Cream together the margarine & sugar in a large bowl.

IMG_3785 IMG_3786

^ looks like ice cream doesn’t it? tastes pretty good on it’s own too, though your jeans might disagree.

Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl and gradually add them to the butter/sugar mix, stirring well until everything is combined.

IMG_3793 IMG_3794

Add your vanilla extract, stir stir stir.

Adding 3 tablespoons at a time, fold your flour & baking powder gently into your mixture until everything is combined and there are no floury bits left.

IMG_3800 IMG_3801IMG_3804

Or there is option 2:

Whack everything in a bowl and beat the hell out of it until it’s smooth.

Whichever option you go for, it really doesn’t matter.

When you’ve made your sponge mix, add your coconut and marmalade and give it a good mix.

IMG_3806

You will have to do a bit of random stabbing at the marmalade to make sure that it breaks up properly.  It would be awesome if you were the one person to get a massive chunk of marmalade in your slice of cake but not so good for everyone else.

Pour the mixture into your desired crockery and, if you’re like me, try and fend off your boyfriend with a large stick as he eagerly waits to lick out the bowl.

IMG_3810

If you’re making a loaf then it will need to bake for an hour, and half way through it might be an idea to pop some greaseproof paper on to to stop it burning.  If you’re making cupcakes, around 20minutes should be fine and if you’re just making a massive cake like mine then set your timer for 30minutes.

To test whether your cake is done, stick a knife into the middle and if it comes out clean, your cake it ready.  If it comes out slightly sticky give your cake/s another 5-10minutes and if it’s a mess then you’ve probably forgotten to turn the oven on – this has been known to happen.

IMG_3811

Leave your cake in the tin to cool. This is v. important because if you try to slice a warm cake the whole thing will turn into a crumbly mess.  Not so much of an issue if you plan on eating the whole thing in one sitting but, ya know, just FYI…

IMG_3814

Cake, coffee, your favourite box set and (in my case) a box of lemsip.  That is what I call Sunday bliss.

Leave a Reply

