Jackson + Rye

American diners are popping up all over the place right now.  Everywhere you turn there’s a new burger joint or fried chicken truck with a beer list as long as your arm.  Jackson + Rye now have three restaurants in London: Wardour Street, Chiswick & Richmond.  I’ve been dying to try it for ages because whenever I go past it’s been rammed so I thought ‘Hey, it must be good…’ FullSizeRender (2)

We’d had a very, very busy weekend and headed out to Chiswick to hunt down an easy, no fuss, non-dressy supper.  There was a decent drinks list that we took advantage of but I think that these guys really value themselves on their rye.  I know, I thought that rye was only in healthy bread too.  American rye whiskey however (according to the bartender) is distilled from over 50% rye which gives it a spicy touch other whiskey’s don’t have.  I’m not a big whiskey drinker but gave it a go. FullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender (3) Skipping starters, we went straight to the main courses – never having tried buttermilk fried chicken, I went for that and Chris went for good ol’ steak.  They have a lot on their menu and I’m wary of restaurants with large menus.  The fried chicken was nice, but not £12 nice and I had to order fries separately.  The coating was crispy, the chicken was moist and it came with a lovely fresh coleslaw which balanced it out nicely.  NY striploin steak was ever so slightly overcooked but other than that there was little talking which usually means we’re happy with the food!  That, plus trying a few american lagers (Dixie, Boston lager & Anchor Steam – there was more on the list) filled us up so we opted to share dessert.  Toasted marshmallows with blood orange sorbet & chocolate sauce.  OMG the sorbet was delicious! I could have just eaten a massive bowl of sorbet.  If that chocolate sauce was on top and there was toasted marshmallows on top it’d be better but honestly, the sorbet is delicious.  They do ice cream & sorbets as a separate dessert too.

Would we go there again?

I’m afraid not.  Dinner, pudding to share & drinks was pushing £100 which for a chilled out sunday teatime is a wee bit much.  If the food blowed my mind then maybe, but my head would literally have to explode from delicious-ness for me to spend that much money on that little food again.

How’s your weekend been?  Have you tried anywhere new? Or even been back to an old favourite.  Drop us a comment and give us a tweet.  We’re @hungryswans.  You can also email us at thehungryswans@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

